Dr. Monighan- Session 3

I was not able to attend the live Talkshoe with Dr. Monighan because I was in class that evening. I was able to listen to the podcast the next which was wonderful.

I think having a free service like Talkshoe is a beneficial tool for educators . I have used Skype for a pervious class but not to the extent of bringing in a guest speaker. Using Talkshoe is a great tool to use in the classroom I would have never of though of using it. It would be great to cooperate these as a way to bring in guests in the classroom or talk to someone with real life experience.

Dr. Monighan was a wonderful guest speaker who really put things in a different perspective. In the pervious post I discussed Blackboard from a students standpoint. Dr. Monighan, however, gave the perspective and the tools for teachers as well as a university standpoint. 

One of the things that Dr. Monighan discussed if how online learning has boosted enrollment.  This makes sense because more people are able to get a degree even if they have kids, work a full time job, and other life situations.  As an educator, I believe that everyone deserves the right of educations and having elearning available allows more people more options.

Another point Dr. Monighan academic honesty and student engagement.  Throughout my college career I have heard stories about how students do an online course for someone else.  I think professors who might now be trained or aware enough may miss some of the clues of academic dishonesty.  I think all professors who teach elearning courses need to learn and implement things within their course to ensure testing and work is done by the student.   Dr. Monighan gave us the example of using drafts of projects instead of finished projects that students can purchase online are requested by the professor. Dr. Monighan also discussed how professors need to know their students to ensure academic honesty.   

I am so glad that Dr. Monighan was able to be a guest speaker for our course and share his experience and expertise.  

Leave a comment